Middlebury Police Department
418 N. Main St.
Middlebury, IN  46540

office (574) 825-9111       fax (574) 825-1489


Full Time Employees

The Middlebury Police Department was founded in 1974 with the first Town Marshal being local resident Lowell Miller. Prior to the first town Marshal the town had night watchman who would watch over the town during the night time.

The Department has grown to 7 full time Officers, 10 Reserve Police Officers and 1 civilian employee. The Department is a full time Department covering the town 24 hours a day. Officers trained in all aspects of law enforcement with Officers having specialties in different areas of policing.

Chief Kevin Miller kmiller@middleburypolice.com
Deputy Chief Robert Baker rbaker@middleburypolice.com
Sgt. Gary Smith gsmith@middleburypolice.com
Deputy Aaron Smartt asmartt@middleburypolice.com
Deputy Cleo Sheppard csheppard@middleburypolice.com
Deputy Bryan Wodtkey bwodtkey@middleburypolice.com
Deputy Ron Yutzy ryutzy@middleburypolice.com
Lori Nordman middleburypd@middleburypolice.com

The Middlebury Police Department also have 10 Reserve Officers who work weekends and help fill-in when full-time officers are on vacation.

Places of Interest



The early history of Elkhart County will come to life with a visit to two of Elkhart County's premier historical sites. Bonneyville Mill, Indiana's oldest continuously operating grist mill, where they still produce stone ground flour the old-fashioned way; and the Elkhart County Historical Museum containing over 20,000 artifacts reflecting Elkhart County's cultural heritage.